Kjetil Almenning from Norway wins The Eric Ericson Award 2009

Eric Ericson

Facebook Twitter MySpace Email

Your friends email*

Your name*

Your friends name*

Music     2009-10-25

Kjetil Almenning from Norway wins The Eric Ericson Award 2009

The Eric Ericson Award, the great international competition for young choir conductors, has now taken place for the third time since 2003. Out of twelve candidates three were selected as finalists to conduct the Swedish Radio Choir in the Berwald Concert Hall in Stockholm performing a new piece by Karin Rehnqvist, commissioned especially for this occasion, as well as music by Lars Edlund, Per Nørgård and Toru Takemitsu.

Kjetil Almenning was born in 1979 and is at present Choir master and organist of the Bergen Cathedral. He has worked as a conductor of several well-known choirs and vocal groups in Norway and has, furthermore, received a post graduate diploma in choral conducting at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm.

The great final was performed on the Eric Ericson Day on 25 October, the day before the conductor’s 91st birthday. Many prizes and awards were also distributed to Swedish choral life as well.

The Eric Ericson Award is a competition for young choir leaders between 20 and 32 years of age. The competition has earlier taken place in 2003 and 2006. The repertoire consists of Western choral music with an emphasis on new Swedish repertoire. EIC (Eric Ericson International Choral Centre) has offered a prize amount of 100 000 SEK to the winner. In addition to that, the winner will have the possibility to make a separate concert production with the Swedish Radio Choir.

The Eric Ericson Award is organised by Berwald Concert Hall, Concerts Sweden/Rikskonserter, Swedish Radio Music Department and the Uppsala University Choral Centre in collaboration with Barent International Centre for Choral Music, Eric Ericson International Choral Centre (EIC), Europa Cantat and the International Federation for Choral Music (IFCM).
The Eric Ericson Award is being held in association with the Swedish EU presidency in autumn 2009.